Claire Burgess’s Blog

My Very First (EASY) Victoria Sponge

Posted in Claire Burgess, Food, Fun by Claire Burgess on April 12, 2012

This Easter I’ve been learning lots of new skills including making my very first Victoria Sponge Cake to take to my boyfriend’s parents for Sunday Lunch.

I looked around online and found this great Nigella recipe on the Something Cakey blog. I struggle with recipes sometimes that contain so many ingredients and are really difficult to follow. This is REALLY EASY. If I can make it then anyone can. If you need a cake that can impress then here it is:

Ingredients

250g each of self raising flour, castor sugar, butter

4 large eggs

2 tsps baking powder

2 tsp vanilla extract

2-3 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 200*C

Method

Add butter and sugar to a bowl and cream.

Alternate a couple of spoonfuls of flour and 1 egg until all the flour is added. add baking powder.

Add vanilla extract and milk until consistency of a thick batter.

Pour into 2 cake tins (I used 2 9inch non-stick Asda Smart Price tins and greased them with butter ) and bake in oven @ 200*c for 15-20 mins. Then turn down oven to 180*c and bake for a further 35-45 mins. Keep an eye on it and reduce heat a little if you think it is too hot! I moved mine lower in the oven.

Leave to cool in cake tin for a while then turn out onto a wire rack. Leave until completely cool to ice however you choose. I used 3/4 250g Jar of Jam and 3/4 a tub of Betty Crocker Buttercream style icing.

Here’s what I ended up with – YUMMY!

My very first Victoria Sponge Cake

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dan Del Ferraro said, on April 12, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    Doesn’t seem like it was your first time. That looks great, really. YUMMy!

    • Claire Burgess said, on April 12, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      Dan it really was and I am rubbish at any kind of cooking so I mean it when I say if I can do it, anyone can. Let me know if you give it a try x

      • Dan Del Ferraro said, on April 12, 2012 at 8:16 pm

        You should try to make a 7 layer version of this, right? 🙂 Baking isn’t my major strength, but I love to try and work at it. We’ll have to try this for a party or get together, thanks and we’ll let you know when we try.


Leave a comment